Daytona International Speedway continues its long standing Supercross tradition on Saturday with Round 10 of the Monster Energy Supercross series held on the grassy area of the famous home to the Daytona 500.

In many respects Daytona is the birthplace of Supercross as it was here, in 1971, the first dirt bike race was held which gave Mike Goodwin an idea to create a new sport. The following year, the Los Angeles Coliseum hosted "The Superbowl of Motocross." The rest is Supercross history.

For the eighth year, Ricky Carmichael lends his hand in creating the track, which unlike last year, the start is at the west end of the track instead of the middle. Carmichael said he was ready for some changes to the track design and wanted to make it more exciting for the fans. It looks fast with long straightaways. Check out the animated track map:

Ryan Dungey rides into Daytona with a 30 point lead and looking for his first ever win here. This time last year, Dungey trailed eventual Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto by 23 points. Villopoto left Daytona with his third win of the year and fourth at Daytona. He increased his lead to 28 over Dungey who finished third that day. If Dungey, who won last week in Atlanta, can pull off back-to-back wins he can at a minimum add another three points to his lead over Trey Canard.

But don't count out anybody for this race. It's the closest to a Motocross style track riders get all season and it's Ken Roczen, in desperate need of a win who carries the 2015 Motocross crown with him, and Canard, who has two wins and four straight podiums this year, also excels in the fast tracks winning four of the last five Motocross races in the 2014 season. Eli Tomac is closing in on third place thanks to his second-place finish last week and he too came on strong last summer after starting Round 5 of Outdoors.

Jimmy Albertson

On the home front, Jimmy Albertson had one of his better races last year at Daytona, qualifying for the Main in a Semi race and moving on to finish in 17th place. Nick Wey also got into the Main via the Semi but trailed the field once the checkers dropped. Both MotoSport riders are coming off relatively decent rides in Atlanta and should be looking for season best finishes.

Nick Wey

In the 250 East class, Marvin Musquin has wins in two of the three rounds raced this season and in both he was untouchable. He leads Jeremy Martin by seven, the other winner this season and entering Daytona with two straight podiums. Martin brings his 2014 Motocross 250 class crown to the fast track and will look to follow-up a Musquin win, with one of his own again.

Kyle Peters

The third place Justin Bogle, the defending 250SX East champion, has been on the podium all three rounds but still looking for a win. Last year, Bogle was in third prior to Daytona where he finished fifth and dropped to fourth-place behind Blake Bagget, who is now in the 450 class; Martin Davalos, currently in fifth; and Adam Cianciarulo, who was injured during a race in Europe last fall and not competing. Bogle is in familiar territory and not far out from capturing the lead and defending his title.

Colt Nichols

Kyle Peters, who rides for the Racing team, has finished in the Top 15 every round this season. He opened his season with a 10th place result and is currently in 11th place in the point standings. His teammate Colt Nichols missed the Main in the first Atlanta race but got in last week and rode to a 17th place finish. Mitchell Oldenburg did not qualify for the Main last week but raced to an 11th place finish at Atlanta 1.

Practice starts at 12:30 p.m. (EST) with opening ceremonies at 7 p.m. (EST) Saturday at the speedway. Buy tickets online or at the main ticket office, 1801 W. International Speedway Blvd. in Daytona Beach, FL.

2015 Monster Energy Supercross Season Standings

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Dungey (199)
  2. Trey Canard (169)
  3. Ken Roczen (156)
  4. Eli Tomac (137)
  5. Jason Anderson (126)
  6. Chad Reed (124)
  7. Cole Seely (120)
  8. Blake Baggett (115)
  9. Andrew Short (100)
  10. Broc Tickle (96)

250SX East Class Season Standings

  1. Marvin Musquin (72)
  2. Jeremy Martin (65)
  3. Justin Bogle (62)
  4. Joey Savatgy (54)
  5. Martin Davalos (45)
  6. Matt Lemoine (39)
  7. Vince Friese (38)
  8. Arnaud Tonus (38)
  9. RJ Hampshire (38)
  10. Anthony Rodriguez (34)