The track is different but the dirt is the same as the 2015 Monster Energy Supercross season remains in Atlanta for back-to-back races with Round 9 on Saturday at the Georgia Dome.

Chad Reed dominated the field last time around and he'll no doubt be charged to try and make history as the first rider to win consecutive races in Atlanta since it's the first time in the city's history hosting two rounds in one season. A special "Duel in the Dome" honor was even concocted to recognize the rider amassing the most points in Atlanta. (Hey, why doesn't Anaheim do that? How about "Fight on the Field" or "Shootout at the Stadium." No wait! The "Anaheim Threesome.")

Since no one this season has yet to win successive Rounds, Reed's work is cut out for him. Additionally, his won on Saturday was only his second podium of the year. But the much-needed points, especially after a disqualification at A2, puts Reed in seventh-place, just five away from fourth-place Eli Tomac.

Speaking of Tomac, a crash took him out of the race at Atlanta 1 giving him one point, the second time this season. No word on his availability for Round 9 but if doesn't ride or can't manage a decent amount of points, Jason Anderson, Cole Seely and Reed all have dibs on the #4 spot or at least getting into the Top 5.

Unless he crashes, expect Ryan Dungey to land somewhere on the podium. He hasn't been off since Round 1 and he has two wins, two second-places and two third-places for the season. Ken Roczen registered his second single digit point race after crashing in the Main on Saturday, this allowed Trey Canard to take over the second-place spot by six points. Roczen hasn't won since A2 and Canard certainly wants a tighter hold on second and close the 25 point gap with Dungey so adding this altogether, along with the two-week break before Round 10, the racing for the second Round at Atlanta could be the most intense of the season.

Jimmy Albertson looks to rebound for Atlanta 2

On the home front, Jimmy Albertson hitting the Main success came to an abrupt halt last weekend at three straight when he crashed taking another MotoSport rider, Adam Enticknap, with him. Albertson has made five Mains this year riding well in all but one of them. His 19 points on the season put him in 23rd place. On the flip side, Nick Wey managed his third straight Main after missing four of the first five. His 21 points on the season have him in 22nd place.

Nick Wey hopes to keep reaching the Main streak alive

In the 250s, Jeremy Martin improved his Championship odds with a win that moved him from fourth-place to second in the standings. Heavy favorite Marvin Musquin, who won the opening round in Arlington, took second and last year's 250SX East Champion Justin Bogle grabbed third. Musquin and Mogle reached the podium in both Rounds raced. Joey Savatgy, who took third in the opening Round was fourth this time around.

As for MotoSport riders, Mitchell Oldenburg, who crashed out in the Main at Arlington, finished 11th. The ARMA/ team rider has qualified for the Main in the Heat race for both Rounds this year.

Mitchell Oldenburg is fast, look for a Top 10 finish soon

Both Kyle Peters and Colt Nichols who ride for the Racing team needed the LCQ to get in and only Peters moved on. He followed up his opening Round 10th place performance with a 13th place finish. As for the point standings, Peters is in 11th, Oldenburg in 13th and Nichols is 15th.

Kyle Peters has reached the 250SX East Main both times out

Doors to Atlanta 2 or Round 9 open at 12 p.m. (EST) and the Main event starts at 6:30 p.m. (EST) Saturday at the Georgia Dome. Buy tickets online or at the box office, 1 Georgia Dome Dr. NW in Atlanta, GA.

2015 Monster Energy Supercross Season Standings

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Dungey (174)
  2. Trey Canard (149)
  3. Ken Roczen (143)
  4. Eli Tomac (115)
  5. Jason Anderson (114)
  6. Cole Seely (111)
  7. Chad Reed (110)
  8. Blake Baggett (99)
  9. Andrew Short (94)
  10. Broc Tickle (78)

250SX East Class Season Standings

  1. Marvin Musquin (47)
  2. Jeremy Martin (43)
  3. Justin Bogle (42)
  4. Joey Savatgy (36)
  5. Martin Davalos (30)
  6. Matt Lemoine (30)
  7. Vince Friese (30)
  8. RJ Hampshire (26)
  9. Arnaud Tonus (24)
  10. Anthony Rodriguez (21)