Ryan Dungey saved one of his most dominating performances for the 2015 Monster Energy Supercross season for the last race. A race he didn't need to compete in. A race that had no bearing on him claiming the title - he won that weeks ago. A race that didn't really matter.

But clearly it mattered to him.

The Supercross finale held on Saturday in Las Vegas was Dungey's 100th career start. The win? His eighth of the year, a personal season best. He amassed 16 straight podium appearances. The only time he didn't get on the box was A1. Dungey finished the year 85 points ahead of runner-up Eli Tomac. That's three full race wins and then some.

Dungey grabbed the holeshot ahead of Justin Brayton and Tomac and led nearly wire-to-wire but not before getting some challenge by Tomac looking for his second straight win. Tomac briefly grabbed the lead on Lap 2 before Dungey took it right back and the cat and mouse game came to an end on Lap 5 as Tomac lost his front end heading into a turn coming out of the whoops. As Dungey pulled away, Tomac held on for second for the fifth time of the season and 11th podium of the year including sixth straight to close out the series.

"It was a good step for us and I learned a lot myself with the people around me," Dungey said. "I really wanted that win #8."

Weston Peick rounded out the final podium of the year with his second third-place finish in the last three rounds. The result helped push him into the Top 10 in the standings, just a point ahead of Josh Grant who placed fifth in Las Vegas. Cole Seely took fourth-place, finished third on the year and also walked away with Rookie of the Year honors. Chad Reed rehabbed his injured shoulder enough to place seventh and hold on to fourth-place for the year, just three points in front of rookie Blake Baggett.

Nick Wey closed out 2015 Supercross season and possibly career with 12th place finish in Las Vegas

In the MotoSport class, Nick Wey added to his are-you-sure-you-want-to-retire year taking first in his Semi and another 12th place in the Main. It was Wey's 12th straight Main and eighth straight Top 15 finish including five Top 12's in the last six rounds. His made every indication that 2015 is his last year racing but also hinted at competing in Motocross. Wey ended the season in 16th place despite only making one Main in the first five rounds of the season.

Kyle Peters proved he is one to watch in the future

With the 250SX class Championships wrapped up the East and West coasts went at it and Marvin Musquin continued his dominating year by leading wire-to-wire which stopped the West Coast's win streak at two and gave KTM another sweep as he and Dungey won together for the sixth time this year. The win gave Musquin his first victory in Las Vegas and last on the 250s.

"It's like a dream come true tonight," Musquin said. "I have never won in Las Vegas before and I used to watch this race back in the day when I was a kid, but tonight it's my turn. To win my very last Supercross race on a 250 is awesome."

Look out for Mitchell Oldenburg next year

The East/West Shootout did not feature the highly anticipated face-off between Musquin, the East Champion and Cooper Webb, the West Champion. An injury during practice forced Webb out of competition. Joining Musquin on the Shootout's podium was Malcolm Stewart in second and Matt Bisceglia, both West riders. Aaron Plessinger finished fourth in the shootout to compliment his fifth-place in the West standings which also earned him 250 class Rookie of the Year.

A crash put a damper on the year's final race for Josh Hansen but he's already looking forward to 2016.

As for MotoSport riders, Kyle Peters took 10th and right behind him was Mitchell Oldenburg. Josh Hansen crashed and finished 18th.

Now, who is ready for Outdoors?

2015 Monster Energy Supercross Las Vegas Results

Las Vegas Supercross 450SX Class Results

  1. Ryan Dungey
  2. Eli Tomac
  3. Weston Peick
  4. Cole Seely
  5. Josh Grant
  6. Blake Baggett
  7. Chad Reed
  8. Justin Barcia
  9. Justin Brayton
  10. Broc Tickle

Las Vegas East/West Shootout

  1. Marvin Musquin
  2. Malcolm Stewart
  3. Matt Bisceglia
  4. Aaron Plessinger
  5. Alex Martin
  6. Zach Osborne
  7. RJ Hampshire
  8. Cole Martinez
  9. Shane McElrath
  10. Kyle Peters - MotoSport rider
  11. Mitchell Oldenburg - MotoSport rider

Final 2015 Monster Energy Supercross Standings

450SX Class Season Standings - Final

  1. Ryan Dungey (390) - 2015 Supercross Champion
  2. Eli Tomac (305)
  3. Cole Seely (277)
  4. Chad Reed (226)
  5. Blake Baggett (223)
  6. Trey Canard (204)
  7. Jason Anderson (200)
  8. Broc Tickle (194)
  9. Andrew Short (180)
  10. Weston Peick (160)

250SX West Class Season Standings - Final

  1. Cooper Webb (186) - 250 SX West Champion
  2. Shane McElrath (124)
  3. Zach Osborne (117)
  4. Justin Hill (116)
  5. Aaron Plessinger (113)
  6. Alex Martin (111)
  7. Malcolm Stewart (107)
  8. Jessy Nelson (106)
  9. Tyler Bowers (105)
  10. Josh Hansen (91) - MotoSport rider
  11. Tommy Hahn (79) - MotoSport rider

250SX East Class Season Standings - Final

  1. Marvin Musquin (194) - 250SX East Champion
  2. Justin Bogle (171)
  3. Jeremy Martin (143)
  4. Joey Savatgy (133)
  5. RJ Hampshire (100)
  6. Anthony Rodriguez (98)
  7. Kyle Peters (91) - MotoSport rider
  8. Jimmy Decotis (87)
  9. Kyle Cunningham (72)
  10. Martin Davalos (63)