The rookie Ken Roczen, who won the 2013 250SX class Western Regional, benefited from a Ryan Villopoto crash and grabbed the first race of the 2014 Supercross season on Saturday at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, CA.

Roczen, 19, held tight to three-time defending Supercross champion Villopoto, who won the holeshot, through nine laps when Villopoto crashed giving up the lead. Roczen held on to secure the win.

Ivan Tedesco Crossland Racing rider Jimmy Albertson raced effectively finishing 19th and veteran rider Ivan Tedesco, who filled in for the injured Davi Millsaps on the Motosport-sponsored Rockstar Energy Racing KTM team, came in 21st after dealing with some bike issues. Privateer Weston Peick, who MotoSport also supports, took an impressive 16th. Peick registered the 6th fastest lap time in the main and he ran inside the top 10 until he pulled off for two laps to fix some mechanical issues on his bike.

"This is insane, I can't believe it," said Roczen. "I got off to a good start and was holding on really tight. When there were four laps to go, I realized that I could win."

After taking advantage of Villopoto's crash, Roczen battled James Stewart who overtook Chad Reed on lap 12. Stewart attempted to pass Roczen in the whoops and suffered a race-ending crash. Ryan Dungey then passed Reed on lap 16 and to secure his place on the podium. Third-place went to Reed. Villopoto finished fourth. Stewart ended up 17th.

Jason Anderson Wins 250SX Class

Jason Anderson, riding on the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy Racing KTM team in the 250SX Western class, took first place for his race. Anderson also won the holeshot and endured some serious competition from Cole Seely, who grabbed the lead on Lap 4. Anderson finally passed Seely on the second to last turn on the final lap to register his second career win.

Jason Anderson celebrates his victory

"The pass was [risky] on Cole," said Anderson. "I didn't want to be dirty but I had to put it in there, and I am glad it worked. I look forward to riding into Phoenix with the red number-one plate. This is only my second career win, so it is big for me."

The Supercross season resumes Saturday at Chase Field in Phoenix, AZ.

Weston Peick ready to race

Monster Energy Supercross Anaheim Results

2014 Supercross 450SX Class Results

  1. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
  3. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
  4. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
  5. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda
  6. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha
  7. Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha
  8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki
  9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
  10. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki

2014 Supercross 250SX Class Results

  1. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., KTM
  2. Cole Seely, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda
  3. Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Honda
  4. Dean Wilson, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Kawasaki
  5. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha
  6. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki
  7. Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Kawasaki
  8. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda
  9. Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda
  10. Austin Politelli, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha

2014 Monster Energy Supercross Season Standings

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ken Roczen (25)
  2. Ryan Dungey (22)
  3. Chad Reed (20)
  4. Ryan Villopoto (18)
  5. Justin Barcia (16)
  6. Justin Brayton (15)
  7. Josh Grant (14)
  8. Broc Tickle (13)
  9. Andrew Short (12)
  10. Jake Weimer (11)

250SX Class Season Standings

  1. Jason Anderson (25)
  2. Cole Seely (22)
  3. Zach Osborne (20)
  4. Dean Wilson (18)
  5. Cooper Webb (16)
  6. Justin Hill (15)
  7. Darryn Durham (14)
  8. Malcolm Stewart (13)
  9. Jessy Nelson (12)
  10. Austin Politelli (11)