The 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship series started its trek east with a Round 3 stop at the Thunder Valley National in Lakewood, CO and the thinner air did little to slow down the front runners on the season.

MotoSport sponsored riders fared well with Weston Peick on the factory bike showing his third straight Top 10 performance with a 10-7 run for ninth overall. Peick has five Top 10 Moto finishes this year and is in seventh-place with 77 points in the Championship Standings.

Weston Peick has five Top 10 Moto finishes

Jimmy Albertson took a step back grabbing a respectable 19th in Moto 1 but dropped in Moto 2 with a 32nd place finish for a 22nd place overall. Tucker Saye, racing on his home track, was second and seventh in his qualifying group for lap times, but finished with a 28-27 for 30th overall.

Jimmy Albertson has five Top 20 Moto finishes

Rounding out the rest, rookie Ken Roczen took the overall for the second straight week after finishing second in Moto 1 and winning Moto 2. Roczen almost swept but settled for second after James Stewart held the lead in Moto 1 for his first win of the season. Stewart was third in Moto 2 to finish in second overall.

Tucker Saye

In Moto 1, Josh Grant grabbed the MotoSport Holeshot Award but didn't hold on to the lead for long as Stewart took over who then dropped to second briefly after a Ryan Dungey pass. Stewart reclaimed the lead and held on for the victory. In Moto 2, Trey Canard took the Holeshot and appeared destined for not only the win but the overall but dropped behind Roczen on Lap 3. Dungey passed Canard soon after and made a push on Roczen but lapped riders proved to be more of an obstacle than the course.

Dungey took second in Moto 2 for third overall, Canard's 3-4 day gave him fourth overall and Grant took fifth overall with a 5-6 on the day. Roczen extended his lead in the Championship standings to 12 over Dungey and Stewart is now in third, a point ahead of Canard.

Jason Anderson just two points from fourth place

In the 250 class, Jason Anderson, the current 250 Supercross champion who rides for the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy KTM team, took fifth-place twice for a sixth-place overall for the second week in a row. Joey Savatgy, Anderson's teammate, improved soundly in his second race of the season. Savatgy rode to a 12-13 finish for 12th overall besting his results the week before when he finished 20th overall.

Joey Savatgy narrowly misses Top 10 overall finish

Jeremy Martin won his fifth straight Moto after taking over first on Lap 8 of Moto 1. His perfect season however would end in Moto 2 after a crash at the midway point dropped him from fourth-place to nearly the 10th position. Blake Baggett, who took fourth in Moto 1, held on for the win in Moto 2 and the overall. Justin Bogle took second overall and Martin finished in sixth for Moto 2 for third overall. Cooper Webb, who started the season with four straight second-place finishes, went 9-7 for eighth-place overall and remains in second in the Championship Standings.

The first Moto for Motocross Round 4 starts at 12 p.m. (EST) on Saturday at the High Point National in Mt. Morris, PA. Moto 2 starts at 2 p.m. (EST). Buy tickets online or at the raceway, Taylor Town Road, Mt. Morris, PA.

2014 Thunder Valley National Motocross Results

2014 Thunder Valley 450 Class Results

  1. Ken Roczen (2-1)
  2. James Stewart (1-3)
  3. Ryan Dungey (4-2)
  4. Trey Canard (3-4)
  5. Josh Grant (5-6)
  6. Brett Metcalfe (9-5)
  7. Malcolm Stewart (7-8)
  8. Andrew Short (6-9)
  9. Weston Peick (10-7) - MotoSport rider
  10. Jake Weimer (8-12)

2014 Thunder Valley 250 Class Results

  1. Blake Baggett (4-1)
  2. Justin Bogle (3-2)
  3. Jeremy Martin (1-6)
  4. Jessy Nelson (2-9)
  5. Marvin Musquin (7-4)
  6. Jason Anderson (5-5) - MotoSport rider
  7. Christophe Pourcel (11-3)
  8. Cooper Webb (9-7)
  9. Cole Seely (8-8)
  10. Justin Hill (10-10)

2014 Motocross Season Standings

450 Class Standings

  1. Ken Roczen (141)
  2. Ryan Dungey (129)
  3. James Stewart (111)
  4. Trey Canard (110)
  5. Brett Metcalfe (89)
  6. Malcolm Stewart (78)
  7. Weston Peick (77) - MotoSport rider
  8. Josh Grant (74)
  9. Jake Weimer (74)
  10. Chad Reed (61)

250 Class Standings

  1. Jeremy Martin (140)
  2. Cooper Webb (114)
  3. Christophe Pourcel (93)
  4. Blake Baggett (91)
  5. Justin Bogle (90)
  6. Jessy Nelson (85)
  7. Marvin Musquin (82)
  8. Jason Anderson (81) - MotoSport rider
  9. Justin Hill (65)
  10. Matt Bisceglia (63)