Atlanta is thawing out from some dramatic cold weather in recent weeks but on Saturday expect a red hot Georgia Dome as riders approach the mid-way point through the 2014 Monster Energy Supercross season for Round 8.

Last week in Arlington, TX, the first East Coast date of the series proved exceptionally tough for some MotoSport-sponsored riders but as with all races once the checkered flag is thrown you look towards next week.

MotoSport Crossland Racing rider Jimmy Albertson finished 18th in Arlington despite a bum wrist that kept him from practicing all the previous week. Albertson said he wasn't even expecting to race in Round 7 because of his wrist injury which he sustained a week earlier in San Diego during a practice run that ultimately kept him from even competing for a spot in the Main.

Jimmy Albertson finishes despite wrist injury

Gregg Albertson, Jimmy's brother and head mechanic, said the 18th place finish looks good on paper because of the injury and lack of riding preceding the race but Jimmy still needs to get some confidence.

"Hopefully going into next week when we get a week of training and testing and we're back home (we get) confidence and attitude changes going into Atlanta," he said.

Weston Peick looks to rebound in Alanta

MotoSport-sponsored rider Weston Peick who finished a career best 5th place two weekends in a row, crashed twice at Arlington which landed him in 20th place, his lowest performance on the season. Peick said the team will build from the experience and continue to race their game.

The always consistent Ivan Tedesco

Ivan Tedesco continues to be the most consistent rider as he took 12th place and his sixth Top 15 finish for the season. Tedesco rides in place of the injured Davi Millsaps on the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy KTM Racing team. No timeline yet of when or if Millsaps expects to be back this season. Nick Wey, also a MotoSport-sponsored rider, took his fifth Top 15 finish for the season in Arlington.

Nick Wey looks for a Top 10 finish

Overall, James Stewart brings serious momentum after victories in the last two races and he can tie Ricky Carmichael on the all-time 450SX class win list for second if he takes Atlanta. Stewart is in third-place on the overall points board just two points behind Ken Roczen who has not won since the season opener in Anaheim.

Ryan Villopoto was the first to win twice but has not secured a victory since Round 4 in Oakland though he's reached the podium twice since. He leads in points with 144, just 12 over Roczen. Chad Reed officially withdrew from competition this week for the season after a crash in San Diego left him with a several broken bones in his shoulder. Dean Wilson, who currently is racing in the 250SX West Series, will fill in for Reed.

Cole Thompson impresses in first 250SX race

Cole Thompson finished an impressive sixth-place in his first ever 250SX East Series race. Thompson is filling in for the injured Joey Savatgy on the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy KTM team.

Doors open for Supercross Round 8 at 12:30 p.m. and the Main event starts at 7 p.m. (EST) Saturday at the Georgia Dome. Buy tickets online or at the Box Office, 1 Georgia Dome Drive Northwest in Atlanta. Live Coverage is on FOX Sports 2.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross Season Standings

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Villopoto (144)
  2. Ken Roczen (132)
  3. James Stewart (130)
  4. Ryan Dungey (116)
  5. Justin Brayton (114)
  6. Chad Reed (111)
  7. Justin Barcia (109)
  8. Andrew Short (83)
  9. Wil Hahn (65)
  10. Broc Tickle (63)

250SX East Class Season Standings

  1. Adam Cianciarulo (25)
  2. Blake Baggett (22)
  3. Martin Davalos (20)
  4. Vince Friese Honda, (18)
  5. Justin Bogle (16)
  6. Cole Thompson (15) - MotoSport rider
  7. Blake Wharton (14)
  8. Kyle Cunningham (13)
  9. Alex Martin (12)
  10. Mitchell Oldenburg (11)

AMSOIL Arencross Top 10 Determined This Weekend

Round 8 in the AMSOIL Arenacross series could be the last for some riders as only those in the Top 10 in points after this weekend's races in Reno continue their season in the "Race to the Championship." In effect, the season begins anew and riders start with zero points next week in Tulsa, OK. The points leader after the final four rounds wins the series.

Michael McDade and Willy Browning who ride on the Express/Spinechillers Racing Kawasaki team are in fifth- and seventh-place respectively. Both riders have solid leads over the 10th place position but the competition to remain in the Top 10 and to get into the Top 10 reaches new heights this weekend.

Photo by Shiftone Photography

Three days of racing begin tonight at 7 p.m. at the Reno-Sparks Livestock Events Center. Buy tickets online or at the Box Office, 1350 N. Wells in Reno, NV.

Arenacross Class Points (After Race 11 of 19)

  1. Zach Ames (301)
  2. Tyler Bowers (298)
  3. Jacob Hayes (229)
  4. Kyle Regal (201)
  5. Michael McDade (196) - MotoSport rider
  6. Cory Green (189)
  7. Willy Browning (189) - MotoSport rider
  8. Travis Sewell (185)
  9. Colt Nichols (178)
  10. Gared Steinke (169)