A welcome respite from the withdrawals of Motocross which ended almost two months ago is finally upon us as one of the most anticipated races of the year takes place on Saturday at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

The 2014 Monster Cup along with its $1 million potential purse features the best riders in Supercross and Motocross. Additionally, this year receives the most television coverage in its history. FOX Sports 2 airs the race live, FOX Sports 1 re-airs it on Sunday and the regular FOX broadcasting channel airs it a third time on October 26 following a National Football League game.

Once again, the legendary Ricky Carmichael put his fingerprints all over the Motocross/Supercross hybrid track highlighting a 200-yard start, the longest in Supercross history, but not before the riders split apart shortly after the gates drop. Riders converge after a 180 degree turn for the remainder of the race and yes, the Joker Lane is back.

"This year's track design is unlike anything I have ever seen in my career," said Carmichael. "It's definitely going to be exciting and challenging for everyone. We started with a great foundation and have an epic final product."

Three 10-lap races determine the overall winner and a rider who wins all three Motos takes home $1 million as Ryan Villopoto did in 2011, the inaugural year for the Monster Cup. Justin Barcia won the overall in 2012 and James Stewart won last year. The overall winner, who doesn't take all three Motos, gets $100,000.

This year's Joker Lane is longer than in previous year's and once again riders must take it at least once per Moto or face disqualification from that race. The Joker Lane consists of deep sand that removes riders from the track circuit. In past year's it took about six seconds to get through it. Timing is everything - take it early and get on with the race or take it late and hopefully keep your lead. Additionally, a sand roller section and a technical rhythm lane should test both bike and rider. The AMSOIL Arch is back, a 150 degree sweeper turn that extends into the grandstands. Check out the animated track map:

Carmichael said riders need to be prepared physically and mentally for the technical aspects to the arch and sand rollers.

Also returning this year is the Dirt Shark Biggest Whip Contest featuring MotoSport employee Brett Cue and others like Jeremy "Twitch" Stenberg, Ronnie Renner and Tom Parsons, to name a few. A qualifying process narrows down the final freestyle riders to eight for a Main Event showdown prior to the Monster Cup starting. A $15,000 winner take-all purse is on the line.

Practice and qualifying for the 2014 Monster Cup starts at 12:30 p.m. and the Main event begins at 6 p.m. Saturday at Sam Boyd Stadium, 7000 East Russell Road in Las Vegas, NV.

Riders expected to be competing in the 2014 Monster Cup include:

  • Jimmy Albertson - MotoSport rider
  • Mitchell Oldenburg - MotoSport rider
  • Fredrik Noren - MotoSport rider
  • Cody Gilmore - MotoSport rider
  • Nick Wey - MotoSport rider
  • Josh Hansen - MotoSport rider
  • Alex Martin
  • Andrew Short
  • Austin Howell
  • Austin Politelli
  • Ben Lamay
  • Blake Baggett
  • Bob Kiniry
  • Bracken Hall
  • Brett Metcalf
  • Chad Reed
  • Chris Blose
  • Cole Seely
  • Colton Aeck
  • Cooper Webb
  • Daniel Meynet
  • Davi Millsaps
  • Dean Wilson
  • Dustin Pipes
  • Dylan Ferrandis
  • Eli Tomac
  • Filip Thuresson
  • Jake Weimer
  • Jason Anderson
  • Josh Grant
  • Josh Hill
  • Justin Barcia
  • Justin Brayton
  • Justin Hill
  • Kellian Rusk
  • Kyle Chisholm
  • Kyle Partridge
  • Kyle Swanson
  • Malcolm Stewart
  • Martin Davalos
  • Matt Goerke
  • Mike Alessi
  • Nick Schmidt
  • Nico Izzi
  • Ronnie Mac
  • Ryan Dungey
  • Scott Champion
  • Steven Frossard
  • Tevin Tapia
  • Trevor Reis
  • Trey Canard
  • Vince Friese
  • Weston Peick
  • Zach Osborne
  • Zachary Bell