A minor shakeup in the point standings and a new leader emerged after two nights of racing for Arenacross Round 8 held Friday and Saturday at the Mid-America Center in Council Bluffs, IA.

Kyle Regal emerged on top despite finishing sixth in Moto 1 on Friday as he went 3-1-3 the rest of the weekend and passed Jacob Hayes by just one point. Hayes rode in typical dominating fashion on Friday taking the overall with a (1-2) night adding to his season leading six Main event wins. But in Moto 1 on Saturday he crashed in the whoops on Lap 2 and restarted in the back of the pack. He finished eighth but another crash in Moto 2 landed him in 11th for a ninth overall enough to give Regal the lead.

Regal dominated Moto 1 on Saturday grabbing the holeshot and leading the field wire-to-wire. Behind him Chris Blose, Matt Goerke, Gavin Faith and MotoSport rider Gared Steinke battled for position. After Hayes dropped, Blose fell into second and Faith took over third with Steinke in fourth. Goerke passed Steinke shortly after and on Lap 13 Blose went down after attempting to catch Regal. Faith held on to second and Goerke was in third once the checkers dropped with Steinke in fourth.

In Moto 2, Bobby Kiniry got the holeshot with Hayes and Goerke trailing. Hayes went down again in the whoops after making contact with Kiniry, who fell back to eighth but stayed upright. Goerke took over the lead where he remained for the duration of the race winning his fourth of the season. He is now tied with Hayes in points. Faith took second and Regal third. Steinke finished fifth for a fifth overall his best of the season following Friday night's sixth overall performance.

Gared Steinke rode to his best weekend of the season - All Photos: AMSOIL Arenacross

"It was Gared's best night yet, so close to the podium," said Kirk Lauerman, team manager for the MotoSport.com/Lauerman MX team. "Haeseker Racing motors are pulling hard and getting the team great starts and our AireMX suspension is killing in the whoops. The Bikes are on point, the guys are feeling fantastic and we couldn't be happier."

Steinke held on to ninth place in the standings and Cory Green who was a distant 11th entering Round 8 took seventh overall in both nights to move into 10th place with just one round remaining before those riders in the Top 10 move on to the "Race for the Championship."

Steinke is within striking distance of the eighth and seventh positions which could help him once the points reset. The rider in first-place begins the "Race to the Championship" with six points, second place gets five points, third and fourth place start with four points, fifth and sixth get three points, seventh and eighth get two points and ninth and 10th starts with one point.

Daniel Blair extended his West Lites points lead with a dominating win on Saturday

In the West Lites class, MotoSport rider Daniel Blair finished fifth on Night 1 though only one rider, Cody VanBuskirk, who finished ahead of him competes for points in the West class. Blair simply dominated on Saturday taking the holeshot and the win for his second West Lites victory of the season and third for the year. Blair leads Van Buskirk by 19 points in the West Lites class.

The final round to determine who moves on and in what position is in Southaven, MS with another two nights of racing. Expect Round 9 to bring some of the most intense and exciting racing of the season with four Motos on the line and lots of points. Round 9 also marks the return of the East Lites class.

Racing starts at 7 p.m. Friday and Saturday at the Landers Center. Buy tickets online or at the box office, 4560 Venture Dr in Southaven, MS.

2015 Council Bluffs Arenacross Results

Arenacross Class Results - Overall Night 1

  1. Jacob Hayes (1-2)
  2. Gavin Faith (3-1)
  3. Chris Blose (2-5)
  4. Kyle Regal (6-3)
  5. Travis Sewell (4-7)
  6. Gared Steinke (8-4) - MotoSport rider
  7. Cory Green (7-6)
  8. Matt Goerke (5-12)
  9. Steven Mages (11-8)
  10. Dave Ginolfi (9-9)

Western Regional Arenacross Lites Class Results - Night 1

  1. Steven Mages
  2. Josh Cartwright
  3. Dave Ginolfi
  4. Cody Vanbuskirk
  5. Daniel Blair - MotoSport rider
  6. Dylan Rouse
  7. Scott Zont
  8. Jason McConnell
  9. Benjamin Nelko
  10. Keaton Ward

Arenacross Class Results Night 2 - Overall Night Two

  1. Matt Goerke (3-1)
  2. Gavin Faith (2-2)
  3. Kyle Regal (1-3)
  4. Travis Sewell (5-4)
  5. Gared Steinke (4-5) - MotoSport rider
  6. Bobby Kiniry (6-7)
  7. Cory Green (7-8)
  8. Dave Ginolfi (9-9)
  9. Jacob Hayes (8-11)
  10. Steven Mages (16-6)

Western Regional Arenacross Lites Class Results - Night 2

  1. Daniel Blair - MotoSport rider
  2. Josh Cartwright
  3. Dave Ginolfi
  4. Scott Zont
  5. Brandon Glenn
  6. Cody VanBuskirk
  7. Dylan Rouse
  8. Tanner Moore
  9. Jake Locks
  10. Mason Wharton

Arenacross Class Points

  1. Kyle Regal (308)
  2. Jacob Hayes (307)
  3. Matt Goerke (307)
  4. Travis Sewell (248)
  5. Bobby Kiniry (242)
  6. Chris Blose (230)
  7. Steven Mages (227)
  8. Gavin Faith (225)
  9. Gared Steinke (207) - MotoSport rider
  10. Cory Green (168)

Western Regional Arenacross Lites Class Points

  1. Daniel Blair (69) - MotoSport rider
  2. Cody VanBuskirk (50)
  3. Brandon Glenn (48)
  4. Jake Locks (26)
  5. Mason Wharton (24)
  6. Clay Elliott (22)
  7. Dalton Oxborrow (18)
  8. Benjamin Nelko (18)
  9. Jason McConnell (18)
  10. Tanner Moore (17)