Nestled amongst a slew of factory riders, privateer and MotoSport-sponsored rider Weston Peick took fifth at Anaheim for Round 5 of the 2014 Monster Energy Supercross season, his highest career finish in a Supercross race.

Peick left the mechanical troubles he faced last week in Oakland at the starting gate and bested his previous showing of seventh-place, also at Anaheim in Round 3. MotoSport-sponsored rider Jimmy Albertson's confidence continues to grow as he grabbed 15th place - a high for the season and his second race in a row he's finished.

Jimmy Albertson at A3

As we predicted last week, veteran Ivan Tedesco, filling in for the injured Davi Millsaps on the MotoSport-sponsored Rock Star Energy KTM racing team, nailed a Top 10 finish for the first time this season. Prior to Round 5, Tedesco raced three Top 15 finishes - twice in 12th. MotoSport-sponsored rider Nick Wey took 13th at A3, his fourth Top 15 finish for the season and second time in 13th.

Ivan Tedesco Lands in 10th

Overall, Chad Reed won his second race of the year, his first came at the 40th anniversary race also in Anaheim. The win gives Reed his 43rd career victory and eighth win at Anaheim, tying him for the all-time record at Angel Stadium. He moves to within two points of Ryan Villopoto who took third, making his first podium at Anaheim this year.

Nick Wey Rides Hard at A3

Ken Roczen, who won A1, rode a hard second place and managed to pass the three-time defending champion Villopoto on Lap 3 and never lost any more ground. Roczen attempted a last-lap push for first but a lapped rider got in the way and he settled for second.

Jason Anderson at A3

In the 250SX class, Jason Anderson, who rides on the MotoSport-sponsored Rock Star Energy KTM Racing team, tangled with Malcolm Stewart on Lap 2. The collision pushed the points leader back several positions and Anderson settled for fifth.

Anderson is now tied in the standings with Cole Seely who crashed on Lap 12. Seely finished second and his crash gave Dean Wilson his first win of the season. Last week in Oakland, Wilson looked to be cruising for his first win when a mechanical problem on the last lap allowed Anderson to get his third win on the season.

A3 also started the Toyota Triple Challenge which gives the overall winner of three races (A3, Arlington and East Rutherford) a new Toyota Tundra. Additionally, if Reed wins the next two Triple Challenge Races he'll also win $250,000.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross A3 Results

Anaheim Supercross 450SX Class Results

  1. Chad Reed
  2. Ken Roczen
  3. Ryan Villopoto
  4. Justin Barcia
  5. Weston Peick - MotoSport sponsored rider
  6. Justin Brayton
  7. James Stewart
  8. Jake Weimer
  9. Andrew Short
  10. Ivan Tedesco - MotoSport sponsored rider

Anaheim Supercross 250SX Class Results

  1. Dean Wilson
  2. Cole Seely
  3. Cooper Webb
  4. Justin Hill
  5. Jason Anderson - MotoSport sponsored rider
  6. Malcolm Stewart
  7. Jake Canada
  8. Shane McElrath
  9. Jessy Nelson
  10. Dakota Tedder

2014 Monster Energy Supercross Season Standings

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Villopoto (104)
  2. Chad Reed (102)
  3. Ken Roczen (97)
  4. Justin Brayton (86)
  5. James Stewart (80)
  6. Ryan Dungey (76)
  7. Justin Barcia (74)
  8. Andrew Short (61)
  9. Wil Hahn (52)
  10. Jake Weimer(50)

250SX Class Season Standings

  1. Jason Anderson (109) - MotoSport sponsored rider
  2. Cole Seely (109)
  3. Dean Wilson (97)
  4. Cooper Webb (85)
  5. Justin Hill (82)
  6. Zach Osborne Honda, (69)
  7. Malcolm Stewart Honda, (69)
  8. Jessy Nelson Honda, (61)
  9. Shane McElrath Honda, (55)
  10. Dean Ferris (52)

Mixed Results for MotoSport Riders in AMSOIL Arenacross Express/Spinechillers Racing Kawasaki's Michael McDade who was two points from the overall lead entering the weekend dropped to fourth place after landing out of the overall Top 10 on both nights of racing. On Night 2 he crashed and did not finish in Race 2.

Willy Browning, also on the Express/Spinechillers Racing Kawasaki team, fared well enough to retain his overall fifth-place standing. McDade is now 40 points from the lead and Browning is 60 points out.

Arenacross Class Points (After Race 6 of 19)

  1. Zach Ames (208)
  2. Tyler Bowers (202)
  3. Jacob Hayes (177)
  4. Michael McDade (168) - MotoSport sponsored rider
  5. Willy Browning (148) - MotoSport sponsored rider
  6. Cory Green (133)
  7. Kyle Regal (123)
  8. Colt Nichols (122)
  9. Travis Sewell (121)
  10. Kelly Smith (116)