The Monster Energy Supercross 2014 season returns to Anaheim for Round 3 on Saturday for not only an exciting race but a special 40th anniversary celebration as the 22 champions from the last 40 years plan to be in attendance.

The 40th anniversary race honors the champions of the past and present and riders get a special treat as the course is a replica of the 2001 season, a year which signifies a changing of the guard from one legend - Jeremy McGrath - to another - Ricky Carmichael. That season Carmichael won his first 450SX Class title and McGrath completed his final full season and won for the last time in Anaheim putting his mark in the record books with 72 wins.

450SX Class Champions Title(s) Year(s)
Jeremy McGrath 7 '93 '94 '95 '96 '98 '99 '00
Ricky Carmichael 5 '01 '02 '03 '05 '06
Bob Hannah 3 '77 '78 '79
Jeff Stanton 3 '89 '90 '92
Ryan Villopoto 3 '11 '12 '13
Jeff Ward 2 '85 '87
Chad Reed 2 '04 '08
Rick Johnson 2 '86 '88
James Stewart 2 '07 '09
Ryan Dungey 1 '10
Jeff Emig 1 '97
J.M. Bayle 1 '91
Johnny O'Mara 1 '84
David Bailey 1 '83
Donnie Hansen 1 '82
Mark Barnett 1 '81
Mike Bell 1 '80
Jim Weinert 1 '76
Jim Ellis 1 '75
Pierre Karsmakers 1 '74

Once the gate falls, expect riders to be all business as rookie Ken Roczen, who won his first 450SX class race two weeks ago in Anaheim, looks to step back on the podium. Three-time defending champ Ryan Villopoto took the win last week in Phoenix and of course is a strong contender to grab his fourth championship win. A mid-race crash at A1 took him out of the lead and he landed fourth.

Jimmy Albertson at A1 Crossland Racing rider Jimmy Albertson failed to make the Main last week after a startling crash in the LCQ. He walked off after hitting the dirt, but barely escaped from being run over. Despite not qualifying Albertson said he felt better on the bike than he did for A1.

"That whole drive home I just had a bad feeling in my stomach. It's almost like there was something missing - like a loss. That loss comes from not being in the main but I feel a lot more confident about myself." Albertson said. "I think if I wouldn't have made the main in Anaheim 1 I really wouldn't have had that feeling too much because I really didn't feel like I was riding good and really belonged to be riding and battling in the 20 lap main and this weekend I felt like I was left out."

Albertson said he'll be working on the same things he worked on after A1 and plans to come back even stronger for Anaheim 2.

Weston Peick at A1

Privateer and Motosport-sponsored rider Weston Peick endured an even worse crash in the Main. He spent the evening getting checked out at the hospital and drove himself home at 2 a.m. He's back on his feet and ready for A2.

Ivan Tedesco at A1

Veteran Ivan Tedesco is racing well in place of the injured Davi Millsaps for the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy Racing KTM team. Tedesco experienced mechanical problems on his bike in A1 but grabbed a solid 12th-place in Phoenix. Tedesco looks to be a sure bet for a Top 10 showing this weekend.

Jason Anderson, is 2-for-2 this season in the 250SX class and no doubt wants to repeat this week in A2 and increase his lead in the season standings. In both races this season, Anderson, a member of the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy Racing KTM team, raced past Cole Seely at the last lap to take the win.

Live coverage of Supercross Round 3 begins at 7:30 p.m. (PST) Saturday on FOX Sports 1. Buy tickets online or at the Angel Stadium Box Office.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross Season Standings

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Villopoto (43)
  2. Ryan Dungey (42)
  3. Ken Roczen (40)
  4. Justin Brayton (37)
  5. Chad Reed (32)
  6. Justin Barcia (32)
  7. Andrew Short (26)
  8. Broc Tickle (26)
  9. James Stewart (22)
  10. Will Hahn (21)

250SX Class Season Standings

  1. Jason Anderson (50)
  2. Cole Seely (44)
  3. Zach Osborne (40)
  4. Dean Wilson (36)
  5. Cooper Webb (31)
  6. Malcolm Stewart (29)
  7. Justin Hill (28)
  8. Jessy Nelson (24)
  9. Darryn Durham (21)
  10. Dean Ferris (21)

AMSOIL Arenacross Takes on Kentucky

The third round of AMSOIL Arenacross is this weekend at Freedom Hall in Louisville, KY. Teammates Michael McDade and Willy Browning who ride for the Express/Spinechillers Racing Kawasaki team, are second and third in the standings, respectively. McDade has won two races this season but also experienced difficulties in two races keeping him eight points from the lead, behind Zach Ames.

AX Tour Features a Double-Header

The AX Tour shows off a double-header this weekend in Hattiesburg, MS as Round 9 for the January 25 stop in Starkville, MS was rescheduled. Pros compete on Saturday only.

Johnny Moore swept the AX Lites Pro, AX Pro and Clash for Cash events the last two weekends and rocketed up the standings. He sits in first for the AX Lites Pro and second in the AX Pro and Clash standings. His main competition, Cole Thompson, remains in first, for now, but Thompson left the tour to race in Supercross on the Rockstar Energy KTM team, filling in for an injured Joey Savatgy.