Kyle Regal was already a lock to compete in the "Race to the Championship" rounds of the 2015 AMSOIL Arenacross series but an overall sweep for two nights of racing in Southaven, MS guaranteed him the #1 position and six points heading into Round 10 on Saturday and the start of the brand new series that determines the Arenacross crown.

Regal entered Round 9 just one point in front of both Jacob Hayes in second and Matt Goerke in third. Regal swept second-place for Night 1 enough for the overall as Gavin Faith went (3-1) and Bobby Kiniry went (1-3) for second and third, respectively.

All three riders came out of the gate for Moto 1 on Friday neck-and-neck as Chris Blose grabbed the holeshot but lost his lead to Kiniry and then Regal shortly after. Little changed for much of the race until Lap 10 when Faith managed to get by Blose for third. In Moto 2, Faith kept up his solid racing by taking the holeshot and led wire to wire for the win. Regal again stuck it out for second but his win in a pre-race Head 2 Head Challenge gave him an extra point and overall. Hayes finished seventh overall and Goerke took fifth overall.

On Saturday, Regal went (1-2) to easily win the overall as Goerke got back on the podium in second with a (4-1) night and Hayes took third with a (3-4) evening. When it was all over Regal finished in the lead heading into Round 10, the first round of the "Race to the Championship" program with six points. Goerke took the second place spot with five points; Hayes finished third and gets three points along with Kiniry in fourth; Blose and Sewell get three points each, Faith and Gared Steinke get two points; and Steven Mages and Cory Green round out the ninth and 10th spots, each getting one point.

Gared Steinke moves on to the "Race for the Championship" rounds in eighth place

Steinke, a MotoSport rider, took eighth overall on Night 1 finishing eighth and sixth for those Motos and then a ninth overall after sweeping ninth place on Night 2. Prior to Round 9, Steinke was 101 points back from Regal, now with the points reset for the Top 10 riders, he's just four points back from Regal. The final six Rounds determine the Arenacross Champion and only those riders who finished in the Top 10 after Round 9 compete.

In the East Lites class, Dave Ginolfi wrapped up his Championship run with two more podium finishes - a third-place on Friday and second on Saturday. There's still one more round remaining but Ginolfi has more than 50 points on Scott Zont who moved into second place ahead of Steve Roman because he did not compete during the two-day stretch of racing.

Another first-place for Daniel Blair - All Photos: AMSOIL Arenacross

MotoSport rider Daniel Blair who competes and leads in the West Lites class took first place on Saturday, his fourth of the season, and battled it out with Ginolfi on Friday ultimately giving up his third-place spot on Lap 6 and taking fourth on the night. Blair gets his chance in the coming rounds to add to his lead and take home the West Lites Championship.

Arenacross Round 10 and the start of the "Race for the Championship" starts at 7 p.m. Saturday at the Smoothie King Center in New Orleans. Buy tickets online or at the box office, 1501 Girod St., in New Orleans, LA.

2015 Southaven Arenacross Results

Arenacross Class Results - Overall Night One

  1. Kyle Regal (2-2)
  2. Gavin Faith (3-1)
  3. Bobby Kiniry (1-3)
  4. Chris Blose (4-4)
  5. Matt Goerke (6-7)
  6. Travis Sewell (5-9)
  7. Jacob Hayes (9-5)
  8. Gared Steinke (8-6) - MotoSport rider
  9. Cory Green (7-10)
  10. Dave Ginolfi (11-8)

Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites Class Results Night One

  1. Tristan Charboneau
  2. Josh Cartwright
  3. Dave Ginolfi
  4. Daniel Blair - MotoSport rider
  5. Brandon Glenn
  6. Tanner Moore
  7. Drayke Sizemore
  8. Jacob Williamson
  9. Clay Elliott
  10. Josh Struebig

Arenacross Class Results - Overall Night Two

  1. Kyle Regal (1-2)
  2. Matt Goerke (4-1)
  3. Jacob Hayes (3-4)
  4. Gavin Faith (5-3)
  5. Chris Blose (2-6)
  6. Travis Sewell (6-8)
  7. Cory Green (7-7)
  8. Robert Kiniry (10-5)
  9. Gared Steinke (9-9) - MotoSport rider
  10. Dave Ginolfi (8-10)

Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites Class Results Night Two

  1. Daniel Blair - MotoSport rider
  2. Dave Ginolfi
  3. Jacob Williamson
  4. Drayke Sizemore
  5. Scott Zont
  6. Jake Locks
  7. Clay Elliott
  8. Zachary Bishop-Burnett
  9. Benjamin Nelko
  10. Josh Struebig

Arenacross Class Race to the Championship Points

  1. Kyle Regal (6)
  2. Matt Goerke (5)
  3. Jacob Hayes (4)
  4. Bobby Kiniry (4)
  5. Chris Blose (3)
  6. Travis Sewell (3)
  7. Gavin Faith (2)
  8. Gared Steinke (2) - MotoSport rider
  9. Steven Mages (1)
  10. Cory Green (1)

Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites Class Points

  1. Dave Ginolfi (132) - East Lites Champion
  2. Scott Zont (75)
  3. Steve Roman (65)
  4. Jacob Williamson (65)
  5. Daniel Herrlein (56)
  6. Steve Mages (47)
  7. Dylan Rouse (45)
  8. Dave Blanchet (41)
  9. Darian Sanayei (35)
  10. Mitchell Harrison (33)