You didn't really think Motocross ended did you?

One-off racing events grab headlines during the silly season and what's sure to be an end-of-summer hit in the coming years got a successful start this weekend in Michigan. The inaugural $50K Edge of Summer MX at the Soaring Eagle Resort and Casino in Mount Pleasant, MI brought thousands of fans who watched Ricky Renner take the top prize against what's widely regarded as the most talented starting gate line-up in the Great Lake state since RedBud.

Renner who grabbed the holeshot led Levi Kilbarger through the first lap and then had to fight off Kyle Chisholm, Jimmy Albertson and Nick Wey who all eventually passed Kilbarger. Chisholm did catch Renner on Lap 12 taking the lead with just eight laps remaining but he crashed out giving the lead back to Renner and enabled the MotoSport-sponsored Wey dibs on second-place. Chisholm crashed pretty hard but walked away.

Wey, considered a heavy favorite, managed to overcome a bad start, just inside the Top 10 for the first few laps, and passed Albertson on Lap 14. He finished second four seconds behind Renner. Wey borrowed a friend's bike for the race but used the suspension from his regular race bike. Albertson, also MotoSport-sponsored, was unable to hold on to third and settled for fourth place behind Mitchell Oldenburg.

"I did well in the Supercross portion of the track, maybe not so well in the Motocross sections," said Wey. "I wish I'd have got a better start to keep him honest, but Ricky rode excellent and certainly deserved the win tonight."

Renner took home $10,000 for his win and Wey $8,000.

The track built on the grounds of the casino is considered a hybrid Motocross/Supercross track much like the Daytona Supercross track in Florida. RCH Racing owners Ricky Carmichael and Corey Hart both made appearances as well as team riders Weston Peick and Ivan Tedesco.

Edge of Summer MX Pro Results:

  1. Ricky Renner
  2. Nick Wey
  3. Mitchell Oldenburg
  4. Jimmy Albertson
  5. James Decotis
  6. Levi Kilbarger
  7. Jeff Gibson
  8. Travis Sewell
  9. Heath Harrison
  10. Josh Osby
  11. Jerry Lorenz
  12. Dan Herrlein
  13. Broc Peterson
  14. Dakota Kessler
  15. Sean Hackley
  16. Todd Krieg
  17. Kyle Chisholm
  18. Paul Coates
  19. David Butler
  20. Cody Williams