Ryan Dungey Signs for Factory KTM

KTM Motorsports is pleased to announce the addition of Supercross/Motocross racer Ryan Dungey to the Red Bull/KTM Factory Race Team for the 2012 and 2013 AMA Pro Supercross and Motocross Championship Series.

The well-decorated rider's first official race with the Red Bull/KTM Factory Team will be the opening round of the AMA Pro Supercross Championship Series at Angel Stadium on January 7, 2012 where he will race aboard the KTM 450 SX-F in the premier Supercross class.

KTM expressed its desire to strengthen its motocross efforts in 2010 when it released the new generation SX model line of motorcycles and hired Roger DeCoster, the most well-known and prolific team manager in motocross racing history. In 2011, KTM proved its determination to push ahead in the segment by signing 250cc riders Ken Roczen and Marvin Musquin. Now, two years after the launch of the new model line, KTM has continued to release new innovative product development on its 2012 line and has again stepped up its motocross racing effort with the addition of Dungey.

European SX Round 1 - Torino

The first round of the European SX series took place in Torino, Italy over the weekend and while it may not be as big (in terms of names and track size) as it's American cousin, it is still a fiercely contested series. There was a good race in the SX Youth class between Brian Hsu and Kade Walker which you can watch below...

Here the top 5 results in each class:


1. Gregory Aranda

2. Cedric Soubeyras

3. Angelo Pellegrini

4. Alexandre Rouis

5. Dylan Ferrandis


1. Samuele Bernardini

2. Tommaso de Pietri

3. Tommaso Vendramini

4. Gaultier Bres

5. Ivan Bergonzani

SX Youth

1. Brian Hsu

2. Kade Walker

3. Bas Vaessen

4. Aurelien de Clerq

5. Nicola Soave

Anderson Wins at Hawkstone, then leaves for Australia

All of the expected favorites won their respective classes at the final round of the 2011 series at a humid Hawkstone Park.

Bike It Cosworth Wild Wolf rider Arnaud Tonus continued his domination with three victories in the MX2 class. The Swiss rider, who has dominated the second half of the year eventually took three easy victories and was only headed by HM Plant Red Bull KTM teamster Jake Nicholls for half of one moto. However, a lowly fifth position in the opening moto by Nicholls allowed Bryan MacKenzie (Maxxis Henderson LPE Kawasaki) to take the second step on the podium with 2-3-3 finishes. Elliot Banks Browne, although present did not take part due to injury, but still took the silver medal in the championship ahead of Mel Pocock (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) who returned 3-5-5 finishes. Our Dave Rich image shows Tonus celebrating with Team principal, Steve Dixon.

MX1 Champion, Brad Anderson (PAR Honda) again claimed the top spot on the podium in the MX1 class with two wins and a second place. It was Boost Energy KTM rider, Martin Barr who stopped Ando making a clean sweep with a strong ride in the second moto, backed up with a second and a fourth. However, his 65 points haul on the day was just not enough to snatch second place in the series which went to Kristian Whatley (Samsung Yamaha) who returned 3-5-5 results. In his final professional outdoor ride, Tom Church (HM Plant Red Bull KTM) took the lower step on the podium and the fans were hoping that he might close his career with a win after leading the final moto for three quarter distance, but eventual had to give way to the fast charging Anderson.

Brad is pleased to announce that for the 2012 Motocross season he will be making a change and heading Down Under to race for Carlton Dry Honda, the official Honda Australia racing team.

Having raced previously in Australia with great success during a brief trip in 2010, which saw him win at the Raymond Terrace National event and also the prestigious Manjimup 1500, this attracted the attentions of many Australian teams.

Kawasaki Race of Champions 2011 Breakdown

Jesse Pierce was the main winner from the Kawasaki Race of Champions, taking home 5 titles - 250B, Open B, School Boy 1 (12-16), School Boy 2 (14-16) and the Iron Man Classic. Also grabbing multiple titles were David Milana - 65 (10-11) and the Kessler Cup, Austin Forkner - 85 (12-15), Jr Mini (9-13), Super Mini (12-16) and Mini Cycle Shoot Out and lastly Joshua Clark who won the Open A and Dash-for-Cash. Other winners were:

250A - Jimmy Decotis

25+A - Keith Johnson

65 (7-9) - Hunter Santo

85 (9-11) - Tanner Stack

College Boy (14-24) - Max Tannenbaum

Women - Amanda Brown

Gold Cup Round 1 - Gatorback

Here's video from the first round of the Gold Cup series down in Florida:

2012 AMA Numbers Announced