Three teammates swept the podium in AMSOIL Arenacross Round 1 and all four members of Team Babbitt Monster Energy Kawasaki placed in the overall Top 5 giving an already early indication of who the rider, or in this case, the riders are to beat for the 2015 season.

Chris Blose narrowly edged out his teammate and Arenacross veteran Zach Ames for the top spot after winning the first Moto and taking second in Moto 2. Ames went (3-2) for second-place overall and Matt Goerke went (2-3). Jacob Hayes, the fourth member of the team won Moto 2 but a rougher ride in Moto 1 gave him 10th place and fifth overall.

MotoSport-rider Gared Steinke finished in 15th for Moto 1 but roared back with a sixth-place showing in Moto 2 and a 12th overall to start his season. Steinke has the credentials to go toe-to-toe with those who placed ahead of him but Team Babbitt isn't the only force on the track as Robert Kiniry proved to be a 1-2-3-4 spoiler, landing in fourth overall. Former MotoSport rider Kyle Regal got the holeshot in Moto 1 but a crash in the whoops ended his chance for the podium. Willy Browning, another veteran in the Arenacross circuit and also a former MotoSport rider, landed in fourth in Moto 1 and 10th overall.

In the Lites East Class, Daniel Blair, Steinke's teammate on the MotoSport/Lauerman MX Racing team finished in eighth place though he did not score points since he's competing in the Lites West Class. In fact, the East class standings look different from the race outcome as some riders participated in the event but did not officially compete in that class.

Kirk Lauerman said both riders had a solid week of training for Round 2 and the team is glad to have the opening weekend behind them. Some minor adjustments were made to both bikes and Steinke and Blair should be ready to go.

"They just arrived in Grand Rapids," Lauerman said. "The track looks good, super tight which suits our style."

Check out the animated track map:

Arenacross consists of two Motos, the first race on Friday and the second on Saturday. The overall winner is determined based on the outcome of both Motos. The Top 10 riders after nine Rounds mmove on to the "Race to the Championship" format which resets those riders point totals for the final six Rounds.

Arenacross Round 2 starts at 7 p.m. (EST) Friday and Saturday at Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids, MI. Buy tickets online or at the box office, 130 Fulton West in Grand Rapids, MI.

Arenacross Class Points

  1. Chris Blose (31)
  2. Zach Ames (29)
  3. Matt Goerke (26)
  4. Robert Kiniry (24)
  5. Jacob Hayes (23)
  6. Daniel Herrlein (20)
  7. Travis Sewell (18)
  8. Jordon Smith (17)
  9. Steven Mages (17)
  10. Willy Browning (15)

Lies East Class Points

  1. Darian Sanayei (16)
  2. Dave Ginolfi (15)
  3. Daniel Herrlein (14)
  4. Steven Mages (13)
  5. Steve Roman (12)
  6. Scott Zont (11)
  7. Dylan Rouse (10)
  8. Randy Woodring (7)
  9. Dave Blanchet (3)
  10. Josh Cartwright (2)