Sooner or later someone is going to be a two-time Monster Energy Cup Champion but eventually and even more impressive the energy drink company is going to shell out another million dollars.

In only its fifth running, the Monster Energy Cup is one of the most highly anticipated events of the year. Whether it's the official end of the current racing season or the quasi start to the next it arrives nearly halfway through the silly season and gives fans and riders something to drool over.

It's bigger and badder this year with an all new track as the showdown for one of the biggest prizes in racing starts at 6:35 p.m. Saturday at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas. Qualifying starts at 1:05 p.m.; doors open to the public at 12 p.m.

Ryan Villopoto took home $1,000,000 for the inaugural race four years ago, a feat almost repeated last year when Trey Canard won the first two Motos but crashed not once, but twice, in Moto 3 which ended his hopes for the big payout but also for the overall win which would have given him $100,000.

The Monster Cup is a three Moto, 10 lap format and the overall winner takes the crown which is $100,000 or $1 million only if all three Motos are won. In 2014, Davi Millsaps returned to racing after significant time off because of injury and grabbed the win with a (3-4-1) evening. Canard, despite his two first place Motos, finished third thanks to an eighth-place final Moto. Eli Tomac finished second. Points do not follow the traditional 25 for first, 22 for second and 20 for third like in Supercross and Motocross but rather 1 point for first sequentially up to 22 points for 22nd with just 22 riders qualifying. The one with the lowest number of points after the three Motos wins.

Every year seems to be billed "the most stacked lineup" but the 2015 field just might be one of the most competitive in the five year history of the Cup. Though Tomac is still healing from his brutal crash in May during Motocross and Marvin Musquin is also out thanks to recent surgery on his wrist all the usual suspects are onboard vying for the big cash payout. Even Ryan Villopoto is back! Alas not to race. He'll ride in opening ceremonies.

But James Stewart is indeed back after 16 months off because of that FIM imposed suspension and just a week removed from his second straight win at the Red Bull Straight Rhythm. Stewart doesn't appear to have lost any speed and looks determined to come back stronger than ever.

Canard should be healthy to try and win what slipped out of his hands a year ago and returning champ Millsaps is on another new team which seemed to work well for him last year though he's already got one race riding his new KTM when he lined up for the Glen Helen MXGP in September.

The track is redesigned like it is every year and Ricky Carmichael always seems to try and outdo himself from prior years. The Joker Lane remains which requires riders to take this interrupting sand pit once during each Moto or get dropped enough in the final standings as a penalty to just about ruin any chance of winning and Monster Alley is back which features 70 mph racing. But the 12 foot high start is new and the gates drop inside Sam Boyd Stadium which hasn't happened since the first year.

"I'm really excited about this year's track design, and feel it is quite a bit different than any before it," Carmichael said. "Of course, the elevated start is going to be cool to see and I like that it is back inside the stadium for this year. There is a lot of heat showing up for this year's race and I'm expecting to see some of the best racing action ever this time around."

Check out the animated track map:

Also new this year is a long sand section and a triple jump at the finish line.

Four classes compete separately including KTM Jr, Super Mini, Amateur All-Stars and the premier Cup Class. The KTM Juniors get one Moto, three laps long, while the Super Mini and Amateur All-Stars each race two Motos, six laps long. The full rider list for the Cup class is below:

  1. Davi Millsaps
  2. James Stewart
  3. Justin Barcia
  4. Ryan Dungey
  5. Ken Roczen
  6. Trey Canard
  7. Chad Reed
  8. Blake Baggett
  9. Jason Anderson
  10. Shane McEelrath
  11. Dean Wilson
  12. Broc Tickle
  13. Justin Brayton
  14. Andrew Short
  15. Weston Peick
  16. Wil Hahn
  17. Christian Craig
  18. Kyle Chisholm
  19. Jake Weimer
  20. Zach Osborne
  21. Justin Hill
  22. Aaron Plessinger
  23. Martin Davalos
  24. Christophe Pourcel
  25. Thomas Hahn
  26. Kyle Cunningham
  27. Jacob Hayes
  28. Chris Blose
  29. Gared Steinke
  30. Anthony Rodriguez
  31. Vince Friese
  32. Mike Alessi
  33. Nick Schmidt
  34. Luke Renzland
  35. Colt Nichols
  36. Dakota Tedder
  37. Kyle Partridge
  38. Bracken Hall
  39. Dustin Pipes
  40. Tevin Tapia
  41. Cody Gilmore

The 2015 Monster Energy Cup airs live on FOX Sports 2.

Dirt Shark Biggest Whip Contest

Also back for the third year is the Dirt Shark Biggest Whip Contest featuring MotoSport employee Brett Cue, Josh Hansen and returning Champ Jarryd McNeil. Last year Cue qualified in the final eight finishing fourth.