The Daytona International Speedway hosted the Daytona Supercross By Honda on March 9 and Ryan Villopoto won his third championship. He joins Bob Hannah, Mike Kiedrowski, Jeremy McGrath and Chad Reed in the three-time Daytona Supercross by Honda championship club. It's Villopoto's fifth AMA Supercross win of the year and gives him a two-point lead over Davi Millsaps who finished 10th.

Villopoto and his Kawasaki passed Ken Roczen on lap 4 and won the 20-lap 450 Supercross main event by 5.287 seconds. Last year's winner James Stewart finished 8th. Ricky Carmichael, a five time Daytona Supercross By Honda record holder, designed the course for the sixth straight year.

Marvin Musquin and his KTM took the 250 main event by a blow out 8.072 seconds. This was Musquin's first 250 class win in his 15th start.