The 2014 Monster Energy Supercross series begins a string of seven dates on the East Coast starting in Texas which also kicks off the 250SX East class. Riders can now expect more loamy soil rather than the hard pack that makes up the West.

MotoSport riders posted mixed results in San Diego but all eyes are now on Arlington. Weston Peick, who will be in the opening ceremonies this weekend, took fifth in San Diego for the second week in a row. He finished 11th last year at Arlington. He is currently in 9th place in the overall points standings.

Weston Peick

"This year the goal was for top five so we're definitely getting on the mark. Hopefully we can keep working up to the podium," he said on the MotoSport Supercross Roundtable on Thursday.

MotoSport Crossland Racing rider Jimmy Albertson crashed hard in practice before San Diego and was unable to compete. Albertson said he got clipped up on one of the quads on the track.

"Whenever you fly over berms sometimes you don't realize how high you get when you clip tough blocks," he said of his crash. "It felt like I was falling out of the sky."

He suffered a wrist injury but is expected to be ready to go for Saturday.

"When you sit around for three hours between practice and the night show stuff just stiffens up and starts to swell," he said. "I just couldn't hold on to the bike."

Ivan Tedesco

Ivan Tedesco continues to ride well for the injured Davi Millsaps on the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy KTM Racing team. He took 13th place, down from a season high 10th at A3 the week before, but it was his fifth Top 15 finish on the season. Nick Wey landed out of the Top 15 with a 17th place finish.

"It was a weird track this weekend, and I kind of fought it all day," Tedesco said. "I didn't ride good in practice. I was a little better in the [heat] races, but in the Main Event I just couldn't really get into a flow. I knocked it back a notch and ended up 13th. It's not where I want to be but it's another week down. We're going to work on it and try to be better next week."

Nick Wey

Jason Anderson, who rides on the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy KTM Racing team, gets a well-deserved break as he leads the 250SX West class by four points over Cole Seely. He'll resume his race for the championship in April when the Western Region resumes in Houston and ends in Seattle.

Jason Anderson

Doors for Supercross Round 7 open at 12:30 p.m. and the Main Event starts at 7 p.m. Saturday at AT&T Stadium. Live coverage begins at 5:30 p.m. PST on FOX Sports 2. Buy tickets online or at the Box Office, One Legends Way in Arlington, TX.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross Season Standings

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Villopoto (126)
  2. Ken Roczen (117)
  3. Chad Reed (111)
  4. James Stewart (105)
  5. Justin Brayton (98)
  6. Ryan Dungey (94)
  7. Justin Barcia (89)
  8. Andrew Short (72)
  9. Weston Peick (53) - MotoSport Rider
  10. Wil Hahn (52)

250SX Class Season Standings

  1. Jason Anderson (131)- MotoSport Rider
  2. Cole Seely (127)
  3. Justin Hill (107)
  4. Dean Wilson (98)
  5. Cooper Webb (92)
  6. Malcolm Stewart (89)
  7. Jessy Nelson (76)
  8. Shane McElrath (71)
  9. Zach Osborne (69)
  10. Dean Ferris (63)

Top 10 Matters as Arenacross Heads to Idaho

Two rounds remain until the slate is wiped clean and the AMSOIL Arencross season ends for riders not in the Top 10 after next week.

The Race to the Championship should make the next two weeks of Arenacross quite exciting as riders compete for points. The new format takes only the Top 10 riders after eight rounds, zeros out their points and gives them four rounds to take the championship.

Competition heats up in Arenacross

Michael McDade and Willy Browning, who ride for the MotoSport sponsored Spinechillers racing Team, sit in fourth and fifth place respectively. Both have solid leads over the riders below them in the standings, however, with still two weekends of racing left, they'll need to protect their positions and fight for points.

Racing starts at 7 p.m. tonight at the Idaho Center. Buy tickets online or at the Box Office, 16200 Can-Ada Road in Nampa, ID.

Arenacross Class Points (After Race 9 of 19)

  1. Zach Ames (239)
  2. Tyler Bowers (236)
  3. Jacob Hayes(198)
  4. Michael McDade (177) - MotoSport Rider
  5. Willy Browning (169) - MotoSport Rider
  6. Cory Green (152)
  7. Kyle Regal (150)
  8. Travis Sewell (146)
  9. Colt Nichols (138)
  10. Kelly Smith (125)