Budds Creek celebrated 25 years of hosting Motocross racing events on Saturday with Round 7 of the 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross National Championship in Mechanicsville, MD where MotoSport riders found some success to start the second half of the season.

Weston Peick bounced back from last week's crash and Jimmy Albertson grabbed a season-high overall in the 450 class while Jason Anderson reached the 250 class podium for the third time in the last four rounds.

Peick showed no ill effects of the Moto 1 crash at RedBud that kept him from racing in Moto 2 last week. He went 6-5 for fifth overall tying his best outing of the season. He climbed back up the Championship standings as a result and is now in seventh just a point ahead of Andrew Short. Peick has his work cut out for him if he's to catch Brett Metcalfe, who is 30 points ahead in fifth, to land in the Top 5.

Weston Peick takes fifth overall

Jimmy Albertson placed 16th overall after a stellar Moto 2 race where he placed 13th, tying his best placement in a Moto this season. His 23rd place finish in Moto kept him from taking a higher overall finish. This is the third week for Albertson on the KTM and also the second time in three races he's taken 13th in a Moto.

Jimmy Albertson ties his best Moto finish of the season

Other MotoSport-sponsored riders didn't fare as well in the 450 class as Nick Wey, joining the Motocross circuit for the second straight week, finished in 32nd overall after taking 18th in his first race of the season at RedBud last week. Tucker Saye qualified straight into the day's races after taking first and fourth in his respected qualifying group but was unable to take his fast laps to the Motos where he raced to 30th overall.

Nick Wey

Rounding out the rest, Ryan Dungey won for the third straight year at Budds Creek and second time this year with a 2-1 finish. However, he didn't close the gap with his Red Bull KTM teammate and Championship point leader Ken Roczen who went 1-2 for second overall. Dungey dominated Moto 2 grabbing the MotoSport.com Holeshot Award and never looking back as he took the checkered flag with relative ease over the rest of the field. Dungey also moved into third on the all-time total career wins list.

"It was tough after that first Moto, but I got back, cooled down and was feeling good," Dungey said. "I thought (Moto 2) was my moment. I got a good start, which that was way, way key and just allowed me to ride my laps. It's good to get this win. It's been since round one. This is a good step."

Tucker Saye

Eli Tomac and Trey Canard finished 4-3 and 3-4, respectively, which tied them in points but gave Tomac the final podium spot. Tomac started his Motocross season in Round 5 because of a broken collarbone and has three straight podiums appearances. Canard has not reached the podium since before Tomac returned, however he has a secure grip on third in the Championship standings with 264 points, 52 points over the fourth-place James Stewart who took fifth in Moto 1 but 31st and no points in Moto 2.

Jason Anderson takes three overalls in the last four rounds

In the 250 class, Anderson who rides for the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy KTM team, is now a legitimate challenger for a final podium spot. He won his first Moto of the season and first career Moto win to start his day and though he finished in seventh in Moto 2 he took third overall for the second straight week. Anderson is now in sixth-place in the Championship standings, just five points from the Top 5. Teammate Joey Savatgy took 12th in Moto 1 but 22nd in Moto 2 for 18th overall.

Joey Savatgy raced strong in Moto 1

For the rest of the 250s, Blake Baggett won his first race since Moto 1 at Tennessee, took the overall for the third straight year at Budds Creek and passed Cooper Webb for second in the Championship point standings. Jeremy Martin went 2-2 for second overall and added to his points lead over the surging and now second-place Baggett, down by 27 points, and Webb, down by 33 points.

Round 8 is Saturday at the Spring Creek National. Moto 1 starts at 2 p.m. (EST). Check the TV Schedule. Buy tickets online or at Spring Creek, 63633 298th Ave. in Millville, MN.

2014 Budds Creek National Motocross Results

2014 Budds Creek National 450 Class Results

  1. Ryan Dungey (2-1)
  2. Ken Roczen (1-2)
  3. Eli Tomac (4-3)
  4. Trey Canard (3-4)
  5. Weston Peick (6-5) - MotoSport rider
  6. Josh Grant (9-6)
  7. Andrew Short (8-7)
  8. Brett Metcalfe (7-11)
  9. Phil Nicoletti (12-8)
  10. Matt Goerke (11-10)

2014 Budds Creek National 250 Class Results

  1. Blake Baggett(3-1)
  2. Jeremy Martin(2-2)
  3. Jason Anderson(1-7) - MotoSport rider
  4. Christophe Pourcel (6-3)
  5. Cooper Webb (5-4)
  6. Justin Bogle (4-5)
  7. Justin Hill (13-6)
  8. Cole Seely (10-9)
  9. Anthony Rodriguez (9-10)
  10. Marvin Musquin (8-14)

2014 Motocross Season Standings

450 Class Standings

  1. Ken Roczen (327)
  2. Ryan Dungey (301)
  3. Trey Canard (264)
  4. James Stewart (212)
  5. Brett Metcalfe (192)
  6. Josh Grant (186)
  7. Weston Peick (162) - MotoSport rider
  8. Andrew Short (161)
  9. Chad Reed (132)
  10. Malcolm Stewart (128)

250 Class Standings

  1. Jeremy Martin (294)
  2. Blake Baggett (267)
  3. Cooper Webb (261)
  4. Justin Bogle (225)
  5. Christophe Pourcel (211)
  6. Jason Anderson (206) - MotoSport rider
  7. Marvin Musquin (201)
  8. Cole Seely (166)
  9. Justin Hill (150)
  10. Jessy Nelson (144)