If there was any doubt that the 2014 Monster Energy Supercross season brought one of the deepest fields in the 40 year history of the race then Saturday's event at Angel Stadium in Anaheim probably helped bring an end to that debate.

Chad Reed won what's now dubbed the "40th Anniversary Celebration Race" in front of more than 40,000 fans and all 22 Supercross champions of the past. Reed is now the third winner in as many races as he bested three-time defending champ and last week's winner Ryan Villopoto and Week 1 winner Ken Roczen.

It wasn't easy for Reed who won for the first time in two years and last won at Anaheim in 2008. Ryan Dungey grabbed the holeshot followed by veteran Nick Wey. Villopoto rode third until Roczen passed him and on Lap 6, Dungey suffered a crash giving up the lead to James Stewart. Villopoto then got past Roczen but crashed trying to pass Stewart on Lap 14. Roczen and Reed each moved up a slot and on Lap 15 Reed took second from Roczen and then finally the lead on Lap 17. Stewart finished second and Roczen got third.

"I had 41 (wins) before tonight, and they came a hell of a lot easier than this one," said Reed.

Weston Peick at A2

MotoSport-sponsored rider Weston Peick who suffered a cringe-inducing crash in Phoenix continued to impress with a 7th-place showing - his best on the season.

Jimmy Albertson Flies High at A2

MotoSport Crossland Racing rider Jimmy Albertson who also suffered a crash last week in the LCQ and failed to make the Main, rode well at A2 with the second best lap time in his qualifying round and taking first in the LCQ. He finished 22nd in the Main. Ivan Tedesco, who is riding for the injured Davi Millsaps on the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy Racing KTM team, finished 13th.

Ivan Tedesco

In the 250SX class, Jason Anderson who won the last two outings by passing Cole Seely on the last lap finished second but assessed penalties dropped him to fourth-place. Anderson, a member of the MotoSport-sponsored Rockstar Energy Racing KTM team, passed rookie Cooper Webb on Lap 8 but was nearly six seconds behind Seely. The penalty bumped Webb to second and Malcolm Stewart to third.

Jason Anderson at A2

Supercross moves north to Oakland for Round 4 on Saturday. Doors open at 12:30 p.m. and the Main Event starts at 7 p.m. Buy tickets online or at the O.Co Coliseum Box Office.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross Anaheim 2 (A2) Results

Supercross 450SX Class Results

  1. Chad Reed
  2. James Stewart
  3. Ken Roczen
  4. Justin Brayton
  5. Ryan Villopoto
  6. Ryan Dungey
  7. Weston Peick
  8. Josh Hill
  9. Andrew Short
  10. Jake Weimer

Supercross 250SX Class Results

  1. Cole Seely
  2. Cooper Webb
  3. Malcolm Stewart
  4. Jason Anderson
  5. Justin Hill
  6. Shane McElrath
  7. Dean Wilson
  8. Zach Osborne
  9. Michael Leib
  10. Jessy Nelson

2014 Monster Energy Supercross Season Standings

450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ken Roczen (60)
  2. Ryan Villopoto (59)
  3. Chad Reed (57)
  4. Ryan Dungey (57)
  5. Justin Brayton (55)
  6. James Stewart (44)
  7. Justin Barcia (42)
  8. Andrew Short (38)
  9. Wil Hahn (30)
  10. Broc Tickle (26)

250SX Class Season Standings

  1. Cole Seely (69)
  2. Jason Anderson (68)
  3. Cooper Webb (53)
  4. Zach Osborne (53)
  5. Dean Wilson (50)
  6. Malcolm Stewart (49)
  7. Justin Hill (44)
  8. Jessy Nelson (35)
  9. Dean Ferris (31)
  10. Shane McElrath (29)

Willy Browning Takes Second Overall in AMSOIL Arenacross

Motosport.com/MJM Express/Spinechillers Racing KTM's Willy Browning finished second overall with a (3-6) showing in the third round of the 2014 AMSOIL Arencross at Louisville, KY.

Hometown rider and defending champion Tyler Bowers swept both Main events easily taking first overall and as a result now sits in second-place on the season dropping Motosport.com/MJM Express/Spinechillers Racing KTM rider Michael McDade to third. Zach Ames who placed ninth-overall this weekend retains the points lead by just three over Bowers and six over McDade, who finished seventh overall for the weekend.

In Race 1, Bowers took the holeshot and never looked back as he dominated the field in the 15-lap Main. Kyle Regal grabbed the holeshot in Race 2 and Bowers had a bit more competition as he fought his way up from the eighth spot after the first turn. Bowers passed McDade on Lap 7 and eventually took the lead on Lap 10.

Despite coming into the race in third place and taking second overall, Browning drops to fourth overall just two points back from teammate McDade.