The longest break of the season for the 2015 Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship series is over and riders return to action Saturday at Underground MX Park in Kemp, TX after nearly a month off.

It's been a while since the series included a round in the Lone Star State, almost 10 years, and it wasn't at Underground so the unfamiliarity of the track should provide some good racing and a level playing field.

That's good news for riders trying to catch three-time defending Champion Chad Wienen, who after two rounds, is in first-place. MotoSport rider John Natalie started the season on a tear winning the opener at Daytona which ended a winless streak dating back to the 2013 season. But after tangling with Wienen the last time out and crashing, Natalie took fifth overall and dropped to third-place in the standings.

It's early so no one is out of contention but things can get carried away pretty quickly. The Top 5 riders, which includes a tie in points with Nick Gennusa in fifth and Jeffrey Rastrelli in sixth, are all within a one Moto's worth of points to each other. Joel Hetrick is closest to Wienen just six points back in second and Natalie trails Hetrick by only four. Thomas Brown is from Texas so don't be surprised if he puts on a show for the home state. He's in fourth just two back from Natalie.

In Round 1 (not to be confused with opener at Daytona) held last month at Echeconnee MX in Georgia, Natalie crashed in Moto 1 after Wienen rammed into his rear tire battling for second-place. For his trouble, Natalie received two dislocated ribs, and a bruised forearm and shoulder though he rebounded to finish seventh. He returned for the second Moto and finished fourth though Natalie said the pain did take its toll as the race went on. After the hospital visit he said he's ready to train hard and win in Texas.

Action starts with Moto 1 at 3 p.m. (CST) and Moto 2 at 5 p.m. (CST) Saturday at Underground MX Park, 7353 FM 3396 in Kemp, TX. Check out the full schedule including qualifying event times.

2015 ATV MX Championship Standings

  1. Chad Wienen (67)
  2. Joel Hetrick (61)
  3. John Natalie (57) - MotoSport rider
  4. Thomas Brown (55)
  5. Nick Gennusa (45)
  6. Jeffrey Rastrelli (45)
  7. Josh Upperman (37)
  8. Ronnie Higgerson (37)
  9. Vital Cazenave (37)
  10. Tyler Hamrick (32)

Written By: AndrewT